{Wedding Wednesday} Ally & Andy – Love in the City

Happy Wednesday! Today, as usual, we have a wonderful real wedding to share with you fabulous readers from one of our very own photographers – Kirill Teslia.

Andy & Ally were our recent competition winners and were thrilled to receive a free wedding package from Kirill to capture their amazing wedding day in London. This wedding looks like so much fun – so relaxed with so many smiles! Check out the champagne swigging on the bus – totally my kind of wedding! This couple are too cool & Ally is one seriously beautiful bride! The images are just beautiful and we hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

{Ally & Andy}

Hackney Town Hall & Reception on the Thames

August 31st 2013

KT15

 

  1. Tell us about the proposal; was it expected, discussed or entirely spontaneous?

Andy proposed after I had been away for work for a week in the US. He picked me up from Heathrow and had planned to propose at the airport when I arrived but I had lost my bag for nearly and hour and was really tired after the flight and not in a great mood so he decided it wasn’t great timing! When we got home I was unpacking and heard a champagne cork pop and he’d poured us both a glass and presented me with the ring. I absolutely love it and it was a ring we’d spotted together months before so he knew I’d like it.  He obviously knew I’d say yes or he wouldn’t have got the champagne out just yet!

2. When did you start to plan your wedding, was your husband involved in the planning or did you both instinctively know what type of wedding you wanted?

We both were involved in the planning. We wanted something Londony and a bit different to the norm so after lots of online research we thought of a boat for the reception, it was actually my Gran’s suggestion. We were living in Hackney at the time so the Town Hall seemed like the perfect option and it is a really beautiful art deco building that we both like. We’d seen other wedding pics online and it just looked lovely.  As we were going with the London theme and didn’t want a huge wedding then the Routemaster seemed like the perfect mode of transport for all of our guests.

KT3

3. Where did you source your suppliers?

We did a lot of research online but we tried to do as much as possible locally or make things. Our florist is the local florist at the end of our road that we go to regularly, the confetti was blossom that Andy and the kids gathered earlier in the year as it fell from the trees, one of my best friends made the cake which was pretty spectacular, another friend did my hair and we made all of the decorations ourselves – my mothering law spent many hours at the sewing machine the week before the wedding making bunting and the kids helped with the table plan and decorations. A lot of these things can be overly expensive but don’t need to be.

KT24

4. Tell us about your photographer, did you feel comfortable with them, what type of service did you get, would you recommend them?

The photographer surpassed all expectations. We actually won Kirill to be our photographer in a Facebook competition run by A Vintage Wedding Guide. I was so pleased as was finding it hard to find a photographer who didn’t take really posed cheesy shots and his were all natural and creative and really captured the day.

KT9

5. How did you know that your wedding dress was ‘the one’? What about the shoes and accessories?

When I entered the competition I had my heart set on a tea length 50s style dress but then when I tried a few on they didn’t look 100% right and as I have skinny legs it looked a bit silly with a wide dress. The lady in the shop suggested a longer slimmer fitting dress and I loved her choice immediately. It was from Pear Bridal on Hackney Road. My shoes were from Nine West and were the first shoes I tried, they were high and sparkly and different to anything I would usually wear. I was supposed to wear some beautiful earrings that Andy bought me a year or so before but took the off to have my make up done and then realised in the bus to the town hall that I had forgotten to put them back on!

KT14

 6. Did you help choose your husband’s suit?

No, Andy had his suit way before I looked at dresses. He bought it on his own on a trip to Selfridges; he had always wanted a Vivienne Westwood suit and spotted this one about a year before the wedding. It is not a typical groom’s suit but it is very him and he looked amazing in it. He also had a shirt made to perfectly match suit and blue brogues. He is pickier about these things than most women!

7. What did you do to make your wedding personal to you both?

The food was the most personal thing as Andy is half Spanish and we both love tapas so we chose a menu of our favourite things and the caterers allowed us a couple of tasting so that it was all perfect. We wanted it to be fun and quite casual so started off with lots of lovely tapas, followed by paella which is Andy’s favourite dish.

KT23

 8. What was your most memorable part of the day?

It was all perfect so I couldn’t pinpoint one moment. Our first kiss, as it was quite long! My step daughter reading a poem for us during the ceremony, coming out of the town hall and seeing everyone, but actually the speeches, they were amazing, they brought tears and laughter and everyone commented on how great they were.

KT31

9. What song did you have as your first dance?

We had Can’t Take My Eyes Off You by Andy Williams but our band sang it live for us. We wanted something with nice words but also fun. It was great, we had loads of fun and everyone joined in at the end and it really got the party started.

KT34

 10. Where did you go on Honeymoon?

We went to Spain for a week the morning after the wedding and we are off to Thailand over Christmas for two weeks as everyone contributed to a Trailfinders gift list for our wedding present.

 11. Finally, do you have any advice for brides-to-be when planning their wedding?

My wedding plans took over my brain for about a year so I would say either plan it all in one go really early including every tiny detail so that it doesn’t linger in your mind for months on end. Or, just pick the venue early on so it’s all booked and then come back to the detail a couple of months before the big day. Also, use Pinterest, it is so cool how you can make pinboards for everything and not forget where you found them, I have become an addict. It’s also a source of great inspiration.

Of course, you will want to see more of Kirill’s great work so head over to his website! www.kirillteslia.wix.com/weddings

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “{Wedding Wednesday} Ally & Andy – Love in the City

Leave a Reply

