{Wedding Wednesday} Stepping Back Into The 60’s: Michelle & Arron

Why hello there, how are you doing?

It’s our first Wedding Wednesday in October and we are stepping back in time to the 60’s.  We love a vintage wedding, and i’m sure you will agree that this wedding truly resembles a wedding of the 60’s.  It evokes Britain in the 60’s perfectly. I particularly love how Michelle found her vintage wedding dress and teamed it with white tights and veil! Looks fab. I also love the VW Split Screen camper van – can never tire of seeing those beauties.

Michelle and Arron were married on 20th July in Harrogate registry office in North Yorkshire and continued their celebrations across two other venues throughout the day. Michelle told us all about the lead up to the wedding and their swinging sixties wedding.

Enjoy x

Tell us about the proposal…

Arron had planned it to coincide with my nanas 70th birthday as my family were all over from Australia. I found out later that he had actually spent an entire day going round 28 jewellers before he found the right ring, the day before we went down south. He desperately wanted to do the right thing by asking my dad’s permission. We went on a family holiday in Cornwall with my entire family. He took me to Saint Ives for a night. On the day we arrived we went to a quiet part of St Ives beach, sat against a rock on the beach and it began to rain so we got under his big coat. I was shocked when he pulled the ring box from his pocket and proposed, so shocked in fact that I had the ring on my finger when he asked “is that a yes then?”; I’d obviously missed my queue! We were in no rush to marry as we wanted to save for a house first.

Four months after the proposal I was in Edinburgh for the fringe festival . I went into a vintage shop and tried on some vintage clothing and in the back room I noticed rails of vintage wedding dresses. I asked to try one on and the first one I picked up and tried on I bought!

I don’t know what it was, but I just fell in love with the dress instantly. I tried it on and it fitted perfectly. I didn’t want to try anymore dresses on, and wouldn’t have done if my friend hadn’t insisted on it. Wearing that dress made me feel excited about the whole thing and proud about my achievements in life. That dress marked the start of another life chapter I suppose. I broke tradition with my shoes and went for some cute blue suede shoes with a union jack pattern over the toes. “Irregular choice”. Arron actually helped me accessories by buying me my something blue; a gorgeous dainty sapphire bracelet, whilst my auntie gave me some lovely pearl earrings. My dress was complimented with an elegant netted veil with pearls.

Az & Michelle 230

Arron organised almost everything. We sat and chatted about what we wanted and how much we wanted to spend and Arron worked his magic and did the rest. He should be a wedding planner!! He was amazing! If he was on “Don’t tell the bride” he would have been a disappointment or a refreshing change. I was in charge of the little but essential bits, i.e. the decoration, cake, bridesmaids. Very important : )

Our day was amazing. I’m sure every bride says that, but it truly was. We’d decided to make it very bespoke, very much about us and the type of things we like. It wasn’t themed but we had a red white and blue colour scheme, and seeing as we’re both into our 60’s fashion/culture we tried to factor that into the day. After the ceremony, everyone walked outside to be met by a big red 1970’s  London router. People loved the double decker, including me, but mine and Arron’s transport was equally amazing: A gorgeous cream VW split screen camper van. We went and had a few snaps in the lovely village of Burnshall, before meeting back up with everyone at Bolton Abbey Village Hall. It was such a brilliant setting for the reception, with the Abbey close by and the hall fully kitted out in bunting and British coloured decorations.

We’d arranged an honesty bar and provided champagne for toasts, but also had bone china tea sets for our guests to wash down their fish and chips with a cuppa. Following some great speeches from my dad, Aroon’s best man and of course my lovely hubby himself, we all went outside for traditional fairground games like tin can alley, splat the rat and coconut shy whilst eating some lovely ice cream from the Yorkshire Ice Cream Company, eaten out of mini bucket and spades. It was bliss.

Finally we jumped on the bus once more to make our way over to the fabulous Winter Gardens in Ilkley. Throughout the night we had a mix of tunes from our childhood and party years, amongst our main music love of northern soul and funk. It was great to see everyone enjoying themselves, dancing the night away.

Az & Michelle 381

Arron comes into his element at organising. I get frustrated if I haven’t found what I’m looking for within 20 minutes, but he spent hours on end trawling the net and ringing round. The bus was provided by the Keighly Bus Museum and the VW camper van was from a company in Stalybridge called Fun Campers. Having being let down by our catering supplier quite late in the planning, we were really thankful to Granddad’s fish n chips shop in Ilkley who catered our event. In the evening, we ate over the road from Winter Gardens at the classy Kiplings restaurant who were brilliant, and finally the photobooth was from BoothParty. The rest was provided by friends and locals such as flowers foraged from my friends garden, the invites were designed by a good friend of ours and the cake was made by someone who sells buns at the local market. It was great how everyone mucked in and helped us out. 

Az & Michelle 509

Our photographer, Sian Colbeck, (Unity Street Photography) was fantastic. I felt totally at ease. She was very professional and has captured some fantastic moments. Ones we posed for but the best are the ones she captured naturally. She stayed open minded but also guided me throughout the day. We met up a few times before the wedding to take her through our plans, and she adapted her style to suite our needs. I can’t recommend Unity Street Photography highly enough.

Az & Michelle 621

Did you help source Arron’s suit?

Oh no no no. Arron’s got great dress sense, but he’s also pretty stubborn when it comes to clothes. He’ll listen to what I have to say, and definitely take it on board, but ultimately decide for himself. Besides, his suit was fully tailored and the mod style looked amazing. I did meet his tailor though who was a character; George at Kristophers, Kirkstall Road Leeds

Az & Michelle 379

Everything was personal and bespoke from start to finish. We wanted people to have as much fun as we did, so kept lots of things as a surprise. By not going down the hotel route, it opened up a world of possibilities. In place of the standard place cards on tables telling people where to sit, we printed polaroid style pictures off of our guests and clipped them onto porcelain cup cakes. They became the favours.

Az & Michelle 648

 I loved it all really and had many special parts, but saying my vows to Arron was definitely the most special moment.  Ahhh, the first dance was a song by Kellee Patterson. It’s actually a cover of a Barry White song, “I’m gonna love you just a little more”. We picked it long before we were engaged!

Az & Michelle 361

We had a wonderful three weeks in south east Asia, going to many places in Vietnam and Thailand, and thanks to our fantastically generous friends were able to do many activities, creating many great memories.

Az & Michelle 375 vintage

Any advice for our future brides?

Write a list. In fact, write lots of lists! But it’s probably most important to enjoy the planning. It’s easy to get stressed out, but take a step back and remember why you’re doing it. Share the work load so you both feel involved and it will make your big day even more special.

Awww! A big thank you and ‘CONGRATULATIONS!’ to Michelle and Arron.  We wish them every happiness in their lives together!

Until Next Time xx

Leave a Reply

