A Bentley, Tea Dresses & Brooch Bouquets ~ Tina & John

Yes, it is already that time for Wedding Wednesday – hasn’t the week flown by so far?

Now, when photographer, Clare from CTI Photography got in touch with us to share this truly gorgeous wedding, we jumped at the chance to feature it so it could inspire you all.  Who knows, you just like Tina, could end up creating your own business from it!

I adore the brooch bouquet and the attention to detail..and that 50’s wedding dress  – GORGEOUS! So, I will let you now take a peek at these beautiful pictures and invite your to Tina & John’s wedding. Enjoy x

CTIPhotography-007 

“John proposed to me Christmas Day Morning 2009. We had just woken up and I thought he had hidden a present under the bed but it was the engagement ring and he got on one knee”

CTIPhotography-132

 “To start with we wanted the big fairy tale wedding but as we already had an 18 month old baby and another on the way we realised it would take us years to save. So we decided that it was about us getting married and not how much we spent. We decided on a vintage theme and I planned to make as many things myself, being a mum who loves to create I knew I could keep the cost down this way”

CTIPhotography-049

CTIPhotography-080

CTIPhotography-101

“We were married at The Sun Hotel in Hitchin on 1st October 2011, our wedding was fairly intimate with only 50 day guests of close family and friends and 50 more for the evening reception”

CTIPhotography-099

“I found most suppliers through Facebook and searching for things via the Internet. My hair stylist was found at a wedding fair.  I was recommended Clare from CTI Photography from a friend who had used her for their wedding. She was so professional from the start and visited me in my home to discuss what we wanted. On the day she did an amazing job and really went the Extra mile even staying later than expected to get shots of me in my evening dress. When I received the final photos I was over the moon. I couldn’t recommend Clare enough, I can honestly say I have made a new friend”

CTIPhotography-105

“I knew my dress was the one, I wanted to be different from the standard ivory and white dresses. I was very lucky to have two gowns. My main daytime gown was an Ian Stuart design it was an unusual choice being Aqua ivory in colour but I knew I wanted to be different and when I tried it on I knew it was the one and brought it on the spot, it was my dream dress”

CTIPhotography-094

The second dress was from Phoenix Gowns it was a 50’s style tea dress which I paired with a lace shrug from monsoon. It was a godsend as we had 30 degree heat for our October wedding so it was nice to change into something shorter in the evening. I crystalized my shoes myself it took three hours for each heel but it was worth the time as I was so pleased with them.

Unknown-21

The thing I was most excited about was my bouquet which I made myself using vintage brooches which I collected. I surrounded them by roses and used an antique Lace collar as a frill and on the handle I added my Nana’s wedding ring as my something borrowed and my children’s hand and footprint cast into silver. I enjoyed making it so much I am launching my own business making them called The Haberdashery Bride. In my hair I had a headband made by Treasured Vintage using a Sarah Coventry brooch to compliment my Bouquet.

 CTIPhotography-140


I tried to make as many details myself. I decorated the centrepieces myself and added fairy lights so we could light them up at night. We also had a beautiful wishing tree which I decorated and attached lights to light it up at night.

I made all the Ladies little felt hearts with the details of our wedding on and children’s favour bags myself and for the men we gave them Lottery tickets which I had wallets made for from BY Handmade to compliment the hearts.

The most memorable moment was arriving into Hitchin town Centre and everyone looking into the beautiful Bentley it really made me feel special

We had our first dance to Avril Lavigne When You’re Gone as we used to listen to it when we lived apart. It means a lot to us

We went to the New Forrest for 3 days to a family friends Holiday home which was lovely but very strange without our boys. But as gifts we asked for Thomas cook vouchers so we will be taking a holiday this year as a family.

Any tips to offer brides-to-be out there?

Be as organized as possible, delegate jobs where you can

CTIPhotography-142

Credit Where Credit’s Due

Photography: CTI Photography

Brides Bouquet: By the bride – The Haberdashery Bride (website coming soon)

Tea Dress: Pheonix Gowns

Venue:  The Sun Hotel, Hitchin

2 thoughts on “A Bentley, Tea Dresses & Brooch Bouquets ~ Tina & John

  1. Brill! So many similarities to my own wedding! I had a farage gown in similar blue, made my own brooch bouquet (which started my business!) with my great grandmas wedding ring! And had a wish tree! Very good taste! Wish I’d had 2 dresses though great choice!

  2. Pingback: A Vintage Wedding Guide Features Hitchin Vintage Wedding

Leave a Reply

