A Gentleman & His English Rose ~ Colin & Nadine

Hello there you romantics!

Welcome to another instalment of our Real Weddings.  This week we are delighted to share with you the romantic nuptials of Colin and Nadine. Taken place at The Summer House at Old Warden Park, Shuttleworth on 11th August 2012, Nadine and Colin enjoyed an intimate and romantic day that you can tell had such a personalised touch. What I personally loved about this wedding was the theme of tradition and heirlooms – Nadine’s nan made the wedding cake and she also used her mothers veil and garter, I think adding personal elements like this is what makes weddings like these so special…

Now over to Nadine and a special contribution from Dan of Two-D Photos about this beautiful day… Enjoy!

DANS 2234It was on Christmas Day 2010. Colin had wrapped a massive present and put it under the tree which I was told not to touch or move. I had no idea what would be in it – he kept trying to put different ideas in my head! On Christmas morning, it was the last present I was given to open. It turned out to be a big box, full of things that I had to hunt through until I found the ring box at the bottom. I opened it up and he proposed. Not at all what I was expecting would be in that massive box!

DANS 2263

We both knew we didn’t want a Church wedding and wanted something where we wouldn’t be stuck inside. We started looking at venues in the spring, and found and booked our venue soon after. Colin was involved in finding the venue, a photographer and a DJ, and sorting out anything to do with him and his best men.  We knew that we wanted the day to be personal to us, and we wanted all of our family and friends to be together and enjoy themselves.

DANS 2151edit9DANS 2126

The summer house only seats 36 so it was never going to be a massive wedding! However, we had all of our family and friends standing around us during the ceremony so it felt really intimate, and meant that everyone could see us and hear what we were saying. We then had drinks around the summer house and lily pond which was lovely. We were extremely lucky with the weather, so it meant we could have our perfect garden celebrations. There is a marquee set up just behind the summer house, so we had our wedding breakfast in there and partied the night away under a starry sky. BBQ’s are bit of a tradition in our families so we decided to have one in the evening. Everyone loved this, and it meant that people enjoyed the beautiful surroundings to their full effect.DANS 2110

My Nan made our cake – she made my Mum and Dad’s wedding cake many years ago so it was lovely to have that tradition continue. We made our own invitations, thank you’s and table plan. We used a DJ company recommended to us by the venue. They were lovely and knew the venue well so it worked out perfectly! We used the florist at the end of our road. It was nice to use someone local and they seemed to really care about what we wanted.

cass 1880c&n-3 2162

Tell us about your photographer…

Dan is an old school friend of Colin’s so when we found out he was doing photography we got in contact with him. He was professional and friendly from the start, open to ideas about what we wanted and giving us lots of ideas himself. He makes everyone feel relaxed and happy, and everyone commented on this. We had a pre-wedding shoot with him which allowed him to get to know us even better, and we ended up enlarging one of these pictures for everyone to sign at the wedding, rather than having a guest book. He was great on the day, always there to capture the perfect shot, but never in the way. He also brought a virtual studio with him which everyone loved and used throughout the night. That gave us some brilliant pictures of family and friends, which we have since given to them as part of our thank you’s. We would recommend Dan to anyone – he is brilliant at what he does, reasonably priced and gives you an amazing DVD of short clips and pictures from the day, all set to music that suits our personalities – everyone loves this and wants to watch it time and time again!

DANS 2118

I found my dress in the second shop I went in. I loved it, and my mum, sister, best friend and Colin’s mum could all see I loved it too!. It was a lace Kate Sherford dress from Xquisite Bridal in Leighton Buzzard. Sabrina, the owner of the shop was amazing and so helpful throughout the whole process. I found my shoes by accident, whilst out with some old University friends in London. We just thought we’d have a look in Kurt Geiger and there they were! I’d already decided I wanted to wear my Mum’s veil and garter – that counted as something old, borrowed and the garter was blue! And then I found some sparkly butterfly hair accessories again by accident when looking for something to wear to my friend’s wedding. This happened with bridesmaid dresses too. I found them when looking for something to wear to the races, and they ended up being perfect!

DANS 2206

We made our own invitations, thank you’s and table plan. My Nan made the cake, and my best friend Gemma did all of the alterations and made accessories for the bridesmaids and best men. We made a playlist of music for after the ceremony which had songs on which we loved and kept the day all about us. A friend of mine did mine and the bridesmaid’s make up – it was nice to see a friendly face in the morning! And my hairdresser did all of our hair exactly how we wanted – I wanted to keep it simple and keep us looking like ourselves on the day!

DANS 2221DANS 2239DANS 2229

For wedding favours we gave  macaroons in a little netted bag, with people’s names iced on as a name tag, so they doubled up as place names. We used James Perry who works with Colin and was on Masterchef a few years ago. He was great and everyone enjoyed a little something sweet on their table.

cass 1870c&n-3 2181

Seeing all of our friends and family together and enjoying themselves as much as we were was one of the most memorable parts of the day.

IMG_7773IMG_7818IMG_7776DANS 2288

What song was played at your first dance?

‘English Rose’ by The Jam. This was Colin’s choice as music is a big passion of his. We decided that he had the surprise of seeing me in my dress on the big day, so I wanted a little surprise too. I knew he’d pick something which meant something to us – and this was a song he put on the first ever mix tape he gave me.

c&n-3 2133

And where did you go on honeymoon?

Sri Lanka and The Maldives. Both were amazing and we’d recommend them to anyone who has the chance to go!

Any advice you could offer brides-to-be…

Enjoy it – don’t get caught up in the stresses of it all. There’s no point worrying about it – you want to get married so enjoy the whole thing. And find time on your wedding day for you and your new husband to have a few moments alone – the day will fly by with everyone wanting to speak to you and congratulate you – find 5 minutes to just appreciate the wonderful day you are having together.

Dan of two-d photos tell us about this gorgeous day…

Having known Colin from school, I was delighted to see he had found Nadine. She was absolutely lovely. They had some fantastic ideas for the big day and just sitting discussing these with them, I could see photo opportunity after photo opportunity!  They are both very much in love as well, and it was obvious from the offset. I knew it would be an awesome day to be a part of.

I thoroughly enjoy weddings. They’re exciting, vibrant and emotional. This particular wedding was full of grace and so many nice moments, I knew people would be talking about it for a long time.

The weather was perfect; the guests were chilled and I think, most notably, so were the bride and groom. A majority of brides I meet especially in the early hours of the mornings of their wedding days are stressed and nervous. This is understandable and to an extent, expected. Nadine was far from it. She was excited to be there, but was obviously looking forward to it. I think her chilled state definitely had an effect on the other guests and of course, her groom!

Tell us a bit more about your service, what style of photography did you offer and use and how did this compliment their wedding?

My style differs. I like to create great memories of the day from both a contemporary stance, and a more formal stance. I think photography is such a ‘personal choice’.  Some people love something a bit different, some people would prefer more traditional. I think if you can capture both, you’re on to a winner and will keep most people happy. I want brides and groom’s to be happy to display my work on their walls, and showcase it in their living environments in pride of place. I want them to be so proud of their images and happy to have them up on the wall in a beautiful frame or elegant canvas. The most important word I would associate with what I do, is ‘natural’. If your subjects are rigid, or look away from you a lot – they are uncomfortable and something needs to change. If you can get them interacting with you and each other, your images will be natural and not posed and rigid. I also like to shoot a lot of HD video throughout the day. I want the end product; usually a video including stills, to tell a story and help those that were there remember the best bits.

Any tips for couples looking for their ideal wedding photographer?

Do your research, and don’t get ripped off. Make sure you know exactly what your photographer is offering you, and make sure they write it all down before hand in an agreement or contract. I have met way too many photographers who word their packages in quite a misleading way. They will add albums, image rights and permissions afterwards, at further charges. Every photographer has his or her own take on the world. If you like the way they see it, and enjoy the images they show you, that is the most important thing. But don’t over pay. Most photographers will negotiate their packages to tailor to exactly what you want included. If they don’t, come and speak to me!

A huuuuge thank you to Colin & Nadine and Dan of two-d photos for sharing this special day with us.  We wish you every happiness in your marriage! xxx

Credit Where Credit’s Due…

Venue: The Summer House at Old Warden Park, Shuttleworth

Photography: two-d photography www.two-d.co.uk

Dress: By Kate Sherford from Xquisite Bridal in Leighton Buzzard

Shoes: Kurt Geiger

Leave a Reply

