Kath & Darryl’s Very Vintage Village Wedding

Good afternoon vintage wedding lovers!

I hope this post finds you all well and fills you with inspiration.  This charming wedding follows Kath and Darryl’s nuptials in the Essex village of Little Baddow.  They married on 9th June 2012 “nine months after [they] got engaged” in St Mary the Virgin Church with their ceremony in Little Baddow’s Memorial Hall.  Taking place after the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee weekend, Kath and Darryl made the most of the patriotic bunting and flags together with the atmosphere that surrounded us Brits this past summer and decided upon a “1950’s summer fete feel”.  You will see from the photographs that it is like stepping back in time, the delectible cakes, the vintage dress and beautiful accessories and the groom’s amazing attire that this was a truly vintage village wedding.  Also, check out the fabulous shoes – I LOVE THEM!

So come and take a look with me into this gorgeous day as Kath tells us all about their day…

“I’d known from early on in our relationship that he was ‘the one’! But it was a total surprise when sitting in the garden one September day he casually announced that he hadn’t been to work yesterday, he’d been to London to get something. I was totally confused until he pulled a beautiful antique engagement ring out of his pocket and asked me to marry him!” 

120609-2249

“I walked down the aisle to The Smiths’ ‘Please please please let me’, and the service was quite emotional. Luckily I had got all my tears out the way at the rehearsal  two days before! I felt so proud to be standing up there saying those words to the man who means everything to me. My proud dad gave me away, and it was perfect”

120609-1576 120609-1720

After the ceremony, we went back to the village hall for Pimms and canapés before sitting down to a perfect English menu of asparagus with lemon hollandaise, bangers and mash (our favourite!) and eton mess.  A lot of the work was done by ourselves and family and friends. My grandparents did the flowers for the hall and made cakes, my talented friends at the Blue Bird Bakery made our tiered Victoria Sponge wedding cake, and the groom brewed a special wedding beer with his friends at Wibbler’s Brewery in Mayland. 

120609-2589

120609-2939

Eyeshine Photography were absolutely our first choice for our wedding. We knew Laura and Dan through their work- Darryl works with Laura- and loved their relaxed, reportage style. They were so professional and it was so easy to be around them. Their background in press photography made their photography totally unobtrusive and they captured some beautiful moments. 

120609-2489

How did you know that your wedding dress was ‘the one’? What about the shoes and accessories?

It took me a really long time to choose a wedding dress. I knew I wanted vintage and 1950s, but I was unsure where I could find something locally, and whether I could find anything to fit my size 12 figure- after all everyone in the 50s was tiny! I looked online at some reproduction dresses but nothing was lacy or cute enough really. Eventually I kept looking on Etsy, and was amazed by the selection of vintage dresses in the USA. I found my perfect dress in my size for £164 plus shipping. It was nerve-wracking not trying it on before buying but it was so cheap and luckily fitted me when it arrived! I found my headpiece from Sunshine and Carousels from Etsy, and my shoes were from Office.

120609-2450 120609-2381

“I wore a petticoat from Vivien of Holloway- where my sister’s 1950s-style bridesmaid dress came from. We both wore vintage jewellery- earrings from my mum and a pearl necklace from my Nanna. I found some white gloves in a charity shop for £1!”

120609-1318

“Darryl  wanted to look old-fashioned and gentlemanly for the big day, so he chose a boating blazer and smart chinos from Charles Twyritt, with a straw boater and twirled moustache to top things off! Our son, Albert, wore a pale blue shirt and chinos too. Darryl had two best men- the two Richards- and they wore chinos and suit jackets with bow ties and cheeky grins all day”

120609-3343

What did you do to make your wedding personal to you both?

The wedding was very DIY- I made the gent’s buttonholes and ordered personalized gifts from Etsy and Not on the High Street. I made favours of lemon curd for the guests, as well as little jars of Tiptree marmalade, and my chums from Make, Do and Mend in Chelmsford helped make yards and yards of floral bunting. I used lots of vintage floral fabrics for decoration, and everything was made just for us. Our friends Wild Combination brought their DJ equipment to the hall and threw an awesome party for the evening guests too- it was so lovely how everyone helped out! We did the stationery ourselves too with the bunting theme continued with mini cake bunting, the guest book and card box/birdcage. 

120609-2336 120609-1736 120609-2785

“I loved walking back up the aisle on the arm of my husband, it felt so right. We barely got to see each other all day! So it was lovely sitting down and watching everyone while we had our wedding breakfast, then talking about it all when we got back to our hotel room at the Channels Lodge” 

120609-3573

“We had Peter Sarstedt’s ‘Where do You go to my lovely’- it’s a weird little love song, but gorgeous and we’re not really soppy types. We heard it whilst watching The Darjeeling Limited and knew it was right for us”

120609-1849

A Family Portrait – Just Beautiful!

Before you go, where did you honeymoon?

We were lucky enough to steal away for four days in Rome! We both always wanted to go there, and it was such a romantic city. We walked around, stopped for wine and coffee, took in the sights and ate very well indeed. 

I love how Kath & Darryl had such a DIY theme to their wedding.  Their wedding proves that with some help from friends and family, you do not need to spend thousands and thousands of pounds to have your dream day.  I am taking inspiration from this wedding, and I hope you do too.  How delicious does that cake look?  I would love to have one just like that at my wedding, and the vintage white gloves – what a beautiful touch. We love nothing more than a vintage DIY wedding with village charm and that is just what this was and it was gorgeous!

A big thank you to Kath & Darryl for sharing such lovely words and photographs with us.

 We wish you every happiness as husband and wife xxx

Credit Where Credit’s Due…

Dress: Etsy

Shoes: Office

Gloves: Charity Shop

Church: St Mary The Virgin, Little Baddow, Chelmsford

Reception Venue: Memorial Hall, Little Baddow

Catering: Premier Crew Hospitality

Cake: Blue Bird Bakery

Leave a Reply

